Skete II

Charism: In Christian theology, a charism (in Greek: χαρίσμα; plural: charismata) refers to the spiritual graces and qualifications granted to every Christian to perform his or her task in the Church.[1]
The Greek word means “gift of grace”. Mentioned in Romans 12:6, it is a power whose source is the Holy Spirit: And having different gifts, according to the grace that is given us… (Douay-Rheims). The nature of charism is spiritual ability, endowment and power, and the purpose of charism is service or ministry. Charism is believed to be a gift freely given by God.
These gifts are given mainly to build the body of Christ (Ephesians 4:8)

So says Wiki. I’ve heard all my life about gifts and how each Christian is given certain gifts. I mis-interpreted my gift of teaching early on to mean I should be a school teacher or youth minister. That didn’t work out so well! But, I DO have a gift for teaching.

What about a community? Can it have a gift or a calling? If so, how does one go about beginning to draw together that community, define that gift/calling/Rule and how does one either stay true to it or allow it to evolve as the group evolves? The Jesuits are known for their scholarship and the Benedictines for their piety and the Hospitalers for their, well, hospitals. I know, for myself, my future life will involve a lot of teaching. But is that my particular calling, or the calling of a larger community I am to help form/join? I see a community in my mind where each of us can spend the majority of our time pursuing our individual paths and desires and callings. A life where we work to live instead of live to work. But, a community needs a common goal. That goal CAN be teaching. Teaching of the Word, teaching how to walk in community, teaching how to be free. Teaching that frees and heals the mind/body/soul. Teaching that reaches into the surrounding community to restore resiliency and balance.

I hope…

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

