How to enter community

I am gonna have to stop quoting from Vanier or I might as well copy and paste the whole darn book! These quotes are from “Community and Growth”. I am up to the 3rd chapter, and every couple of paragraphs I have to sit back and absorb the awesome truths he is laying out. God has really been convicting me on some of this.

”When someone enters community, it is important to be clear about what is expected of them, not only from the point of view of work and their daily programme, but even more their inner attitudes. They must understand the position of the community on fundamental issues, such as wealth, sexuality, the use of power and authority. They must know clearly their responsibilities and their rights: what will happen if they fall sick or when they will have time off or what community facilities they can use, etc. They must know how long their trial period lasts. Much confusion comes when these questions have not been looked at. That is why, on entering a community, there must be discussion with new members. They must be well accompanied, affirmed, encouraged and given the right support”

Not all of these issues will apply, depending on the type of community we are talking about. But they are very important questions a community should establish answers to upon their founding and must be vigilant to maintain. The idea of accompaniment for those joining later is, I think, key. Community thrives when individuals have an ezer kenegdo within the community. Varnier describes this relationship as spiritual direction.

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to enter community

  1. Pathfinder says:

    As one who has come through an extended period of correction and conviction (OK, so I am a slow learner!), your comment hit me hard. I hadn’t read your blog for a while, and saw your URL under the nom-de-plume of Artos and clicked on it. I don’t think I knew (or remembered) that you had changed your Username on the Survival Podcast’s forum.

    I looked up Vanier’s book, and will be ordering it tonight. Nine reviews and everyone a 5! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before. I am studying everything I can these days (one of the convictions that God handed me was for my faithlessness in discipleship), and I will need to keep coming back here for your further postings.

    BTW, I mentioned to you last year that my son is going into the Marines – getting close to his induction date, May 8th. Boot in San Diego, then language school in Monterey.

    God bless.

    Geoff aka Pathfinder

  2. Pathfinder says:

    PS: I just read that you are in Monterey. It will be late summer/fall before he gets to the language school. Does the military share the language school or is it separated by branch? Just curious.

  3. cptcaveman says:

    Thanks! Im always surprised when someone actually reads my scribbling!

    We are seperated for administrative purposes. He will report in to the Mar Det here. But the classes are intigrated, I have a Marine PFC in my class. What language is he coming for?

  4. Pathfinder says:

    At this point I don’t think he knows what language. IIRC, he said they will tell him that when he shows up. I suggested Mongolian, if he gets a choice. Since the Chinese always use the Mongolians for the dirty jobs (like Tianamin) he’d have a leg up if the Chinese were up to no good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

