Dreams I dream

Retirement as we think of it in America is snake oil sold to us by a charlatan. I don’t want to work into my late middle age so I can buy a condo in Florida and a Winnebago and spend my saved money to try to make up for the life I missed while chained to a career.

My dream includes Freedom from the system measured as a percentage of freedom in several categories, including; debt, food, energy, water, security and shelter. It also includes fulfilling labor that provides surplus for the financial needs of my family, including education, catastrophic medical care and end of life planning. It includes service, both Christian and secular, to my family, State, nation and community. It includes a deeper commitment and expression of community, both physical and virtual.

These are common enough dreams, even if folks don’t always write them down. Rather than working a long time to store up enough wealth to buy those things at the end of my life, I would rather adjust my life now so that I can live the dream along the way.

Hopefully, you can watch that begin to unfold here!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

