Lessons Learned…

Well, it’s certainly been an interesting week! I got a phone call late Wednesday afternoon from the LTC who is in charge of all us FAOs here at DLI, informing me that I was officially dropped from Dari (despite 11 hour days since September, my grades suck) and that I would start a new French class the next day.
This is an almost un-mixed blessing. Dari has absolutely crushed my spirit. I came here having been rated the best tank company commander in our Armor Battalion during our most recent deployment to Iraq. Needless to say, I got here with a pretty well developed ego! But, almost 8 months of head unlikely to meet the necessary minimum scores to progress in my career as a FAO.

French, on the other hand, is a language I have already studied for two years, albeit my freshman and sophomore years of High School back in ‘90-’91! French is a much more broadly used language, and I believe will be much more useful to me in my life as a Wandering Warrior! This also means I go from being a South Asia FAO to a sub-Saharan Africa FAO. The paperwork is still chasing its tail on all this, so we shall have to wait to see where our next destinations are.

For me, personally, this has been very humbling. I am unaccustomed to failure. But, I do believe Father is using this to teach me some important lessons. For one, I am reminded of something He had me learn years ago. The truest thing about me is not what I do to earn a paycheck. Whether or not I even continue to serve in the Army is almost irrelevant. What matters is that He has named me His adopted son. The next most important thing is the family with which He has blessed me. This time has really brought back into focus for me what is most true and most important in my life. I feel like I’m ready to move on from here in a more deliberate, healthy way into whatever adventures He calls us into.

Failure is often that gift horse we are told to not look into the mouth of….

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons Learned…

  1. aleph says:

    good news – bad news – who knows?

    • cptcaveman says:

      Its all good. Now there is talk, since the Army is so short on South Asian experts, letting me graduate French and still utelizing me in South Asia. It makes no practical differince if I learn Dari or French if they send me to Nepal or India. Honestly, as long as Im doing the Attache job, I could care less where.

Leave a Reply

