A note…

I found an absolutely awesome documentary source yesterday. I am truly astounded at how much more useful the internet has gotten in the last few years. I will try to continue to post the best resources I find.
http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/

On that note, I will be taking some time to deeply examine the arguments put forth by atheists in regard to Christianity in particular. I feel it’s time for me to more deeply examine this aspect of my faith. A similar search led me several years ago to reject denominationalism in my faith and Republicanism in my politics. I am looking forward to seeing where this will go.

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A note…

  1. Pathfinder says:

    Interesting documentary website. I have seen a couple of what’s posted on the tee-vee, but this should prove useful.

    As for the self-exploration, by all means do what is needed. BUT – be careful. You could easily reach a point where questioning is all you have left – there is no substance. What will be left when you have questioned your politics, economics, religion, role in the US Army, role as a father and husband, etc. If the need to question is from s deep-seated issue with what you see vs. what you think you should be seeing, understand the drive first, then explore.

    And I say this as one who believes in the old TS Elliott quote:
    “We shall never cease from exploration
    And the end of all our exploring
    Will be to arrive where we started
    And know the place for the first time.”

    I also remember Polonius’ advice to his son in Hamlet – “To thine own self be true.”

  2. cptcaveman says:

    Thanks! I have been in a sort of desert lately, nothing I sought to pursue really seemed to click. I thought to do some comparison of the various denominations, see what they believed in variance with each other. But that never really went anywhere. I think the act of laying out for myself the core doctrines of Christianity and then comparing them to the refutations of athiests will only deepen my faith, though I hope I can do the investigation impartially. I am looking forward to it in a way I have not been recently.

    • Bootsaint says:

      aye, a friend of mine left the faith and now questions for the sake of questioning…not because he’s looking for answers but perhaps because he doesn’t seem to want anyhting to be true enough to require anything of him. I could be wrong, but I see in his arguments an ironclad “faith” in the foolishness of faith and an absolute conviction…that there are no absolutes. sad, too, as he has quite a mind on him. he was also very instrumental in helping me salvage my own faith from the aftermath of exiting a wannabe cult. there aren’t many to whom I owe as much for still being in the fight.
      you would be another of those “not many”, btw…so be f*ckin’ careful out there.

  3. Pathfinder says:

    Caveman –

    Be advised, as happened to Bootsaint’s friend, that this journey is dangerous, if for no other reason than the very journey leaves you open and exposed to the attacks of ha-satan. So please be careful and prayer-ful, as I know your friends are being for you. It also helps to have an advocate of your own, a partner you trust in this journey who can hold you accountable as you make the journey.

    I have no problem with the questioning – I still question some things. But in it, I recognize my own ignorance and struggle to continue learning as I walk His path for me.

  4. cptcaveman says:

    Trust me, this is not a place where I tread lightly. But I feel a real call to dig much more deeply into the roots of my faith. I have a pretty decent grounding in protestant theology, but I want to know how we got here as protestants and if there are aspects that I disagree with that I need to re-evaluate. This has morphed from a comparison of protestant theologies to delving into the refutations of Christianity by humanism, to the roots of the schism between protestant, catholic and orthodox theologies. I am not sure exactly where the Spirit is leading this inquiry, but I am excited to be on the ride.

    • Pathfinder says:

      Cool! Godspeed then. But please consider taking someone along with you on this ride. Besides your audience here anyhow!!

Leave a Reply

