4th of July weekend

Minnesota is in default. The Taliban strike on the hotel in Kabul threatens the reconciliation talks. Congress can’t find its ass on Operation Fast and Furious with both hands and a set of klieg lights. The Missouri and Mississippi Rivers have flooded hundreds of thousands of acres, proving once again nature gets the last word. Home values are down, gas and food prices are up and the national unemployment figure is “surprisingly” actually getting close to 20%. Hugo Chavez, despite the best Cuban medical care, managed not to die.

Lions and tigers and bears, oh my…

I feel the swirl. There is so much news, and so much of it portends loss to those people and things I hold dear, that it leaves me feeling almost frantic. There is so much to do to set things right. And what really needs doing is out of reach for most folks. And the Simple Revolution I am coming to advocate requires so much education of the masses to get moving, things like alternate currencies, barter economies, and in general going John Galt. It would be easy for me to lapse into despondency.

And then I go home, and my kids crawl up in my lap and tell me about the rock or lizard they found. I drive back and forth to work along CA HWY 1, right around Monterey Bay. My wife texts me that she loves me.

I am reminded there is hope. This weekend is a celebration of hope. Hope by our Founding Fathers that what they were creating would be sufficient. And, that their descendants would be men and women of sufficient character to shepherd and improve on what they had created. That we would guard jealously the public Liberty. That we would continue to oppose tyranny and expand Freedom. So, take time this weekend to reconnect to what really matters. Get out of the house and into the woods or on the water. Spend some time with people who matter. Eat something well prepared. Listen to music that stirs you. USE the Freedom and Liberty you have to expand who you are.

The world will still be here on Wednesday morning. Sufficient unto that day will be the evils thereof. I’m going to go recharge my batteries and teach my kids something that matters…that I love them….

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

