The problem I have with the Religious Right

I wish I had the clarity to express this as well as my friend Badquaker. I listened to this short article this morning and it struck me that he had perfectly expressed my own instinctive dislike of the agenda of the Religious Right. I urge you to read the whole article, but here is the pull quote for me.

http://badquaker.com/archives/311

“Currently there’s a push among some very religious folks in the US, demanding the State step in and define marriage. As their confidence shifts from their traditional theology to the theology of State salvation, they enthusiastically abandon the family and the clergy as the guardians of marriage and look to legislators to decide morals. This should be a terrifying thought to anyone who understands the nature of the State, but most terrifying when one realizes that the actions of the State are simply the acts of fanatical individuals with unblinking devotion to a cause and no fear of repercussion.”

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The problem I have with the Religious Right

  1. Pathfinder says:

    I need to listen tot he podcast. However, based on what you wrote, you and Hare/BQ/Mike are missing one key point. It is easy for libertarians or anarchists of all stripes to ridicule the so-called “Religious Right” on this subject, it is so obviously an anti-freedom or rather anti-libertarian/anarchist effort to have the state impose a definition of marriage on all people, right?

    What everyone is missing is that the reason this is happening is because the leftists/statists have been attacking this country for decades, and forcing everyone’s hands. They have institutionalized their individual beliefs in as many laws, policies, procedures, and anything else they can, forcing everyone to pay homage to their opinions as manifested thru political and legal means.

    In other words, as in most human things, this effort to codify marriage in law is a REACTION to the what the leftists have already done perverting the law to THEIR wishes. It doesn’t matter whether the subject is marriage, homosexuality, guns, or the consumption of transfats, the leftists have already forced the law to their opinion. If you believe contrary to their meddling in YOUR personal life, you have to take a stand somewhere and undo what they have already done.

    BQ can on occasion be insightful. However, his barely concealed revulsion at the “religious right” here and on other fora at least has blinded him to the real agenda, and in fact he is serving as one of Lenin’s “useful idiots” by playing along at THEIR game, arguing on their terms, instead of seeing this for what it really is.

  2. cptcaveman says:

    I absolutely agree that if we leave the State unchecked by conservative voices, it will run amok to its predictible conclusion of absolute Statism. Here is where I feel very divided. The Christian in me asks “how can I render unto Ceaser and yet keep my focus on my true citizenship?”. From this comes my increasing distaste for jingoism and blind patriotism. Also, my increasing uncomfortablness with celebration of patriotism within my local church.

    The political animal in me, with the understanding I have at this point in my life, decries the loss of our Liberty, the not so subtle erosion of the values I was raised with. I grew up in Alabama, in a place with a small town feel. I rode my bike down to the Cahaba River with a .22 across the handle bars of my bike and waved to the cops on my way down. Nobody thought anything of it and there is now no way in hell my kids can know that kind of freedom. That saddens me greatly. Anything and everything I can do to roll back the Progressive agenda and Political Correctness I see as an almost Divine obligation.

    Where I get caught between the two is it seems to me both counter-productive politically and debasing of the Church (catholic and universal) to base my opposition to progressivism and political correctness on Biblical principals, at least solely or primarily. The beliefs that lead me to oppose those things may have their roots in my faith, but the best tools to oppose them in a democratic system would seem to be the arguements of logic and free markets and pro-Liberty arguements.

    In other words, in attempting to push back against the ills I see in the State, I would prefer to not use morality as my primary arguement. That is the sort of discussion believers should have “in house”, but for public consumption I think we do more harm than good by basing our arguements on faith grounds.

    Admittedly, this is very much a work in progress in my own mind…

  3. cptcaveman says:

    Good talk with my wife on this just now. I think what is crystallizing in my mind is, let us, as Christians, cease to use the power of the State to legistlate morality, taking away individual free will in a way Christ never did.

    What happens is, we wind up only giving more power to the State to be the final arbiter, through legistlation, of what is acceptable and what isnt. We get pulled down into the weeds of defining things like Blue Laws, rather than simply applying the free will principal of all things being legal, but when adult behavior leads to someone violating the free will or property rights of others, they reap the punishment for doing so. This denies the State power to decide, maximizes liberty and free will and lets us, as Christians, compete fairly in the market of ideas. It would also force us to walk the talk, actually meeting the needs of people.

  4. Pathfinder says:

    Your point still misses the actions that in our case of the leftists/statists, who have already gamed the system. The Romans were generally a live-and-let-live occupying force, only getting the Legions involved if you even discussed sedition. Remember, Pilate did not even want to get involved in Jesus’ trial.

    With us, though, an evil and unholy force has taken control of the political hierarchy and rule-making process. I am one to confront evil when I can. Like Paul wrote in Ephesians 6:10-13, especially verse 12:

    “10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. 12For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. 13Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.”

    “Render unto Caesar” was the response given by Jesus to what He described as hypocrites who were trying to trap Him in order to condemn Him. And ha-satan is loose in this world. The one does not mean to abdicate to the other. As evidenced in Revelation, we will ultimately lose on earth, but we are commanded to serve as Christ’s witnesses on this earth, and to evangelize regardless. Passing laws is not forbidden to us as a means to do either.

  5. Pathfinder says:

    Another random thought or 2. . . .

    This country never used to have a problem being a Christian nation, with nods toward Jews who helped out in the early days especially. All of the Founding Fathers had not problem – not even Franklin and Jefferson – in invoking God frequently. All were well trained and equally well-versed in Christian theology. Washington, the day he was elected President, invoked God and declared the following day to be a National Day of Prayer.

    This is not new ground. The anti-Christian movement has been nominally present for some time, especially after the influx of Europeans in the late 19th Century and early 20th Century. It has only been with the concerted attacks on the American way of life post WWII that the whole “separation of church and state” meme has been pushed – hard! The 1A was never intended to be a separation FROM religion, but to prevent the Feds from establishing a state religion ala Anglicanism in the UK.

    As for Christ, he didn’t so much as remove free will as he basically laid out the price for exercising free will the wrong way – “No one reaches the Father except through me”. IF you wish to follow Christ, to live for Him and through Him, your “free will” is going to be seriously attenuated as you obey His rules.

    That said, if we can ever remove the damage done by the statists to date, I have no problem with removing strictures like Blue Laws (I live in a state where there is still virtually no shopping on Sunday mornings) to remove the state’s interference in people’s lives. Sadly, we have a great many laws to undo loooooooooooooooong before we repeal the blue laws! 🙂

  6. cptcaveman says:

    Please, dont take my opposition to moral legistlation to mean I approve of the Politically Correct position of radical removal of religion from the State. I would say, given the origional intent of the Constitution, there is a great deal more to be said for the State to hold a slightly positive religious view, than for the religious to hold a positive State view. Relgious, Christian even, men wrote the Constitution to limit the role of the State to the bare necessities and at the lowest level possible. To me, Blue Laws etc betray that origional intent by attempting to give power to the State to legistlate a particular morality that is acceptable, so long as it is Christian. I would feel much safer, given especially the demographic changes of this century, if the State was not allowed to legistlate ANY morality and let we Christians make our case one soul at a time, individual to individual.

Leave a Reply

