Grey Man

This has been a pet peeve of mine for some time. When we travel, I try my best to have us mistaken for Europeans. Bags, cloths, shoes, etc are European style and manufacture. It works, too. I have been approached on many German streets and been asked directions by Germans in German. Which is great, till I open my mouth! This applies to the spare cloths you put in your BOB as well. Better to look like you have nothing worth taking…

http://www.theatlantic.com/national/archive/2011/07/some-safety-advice-for-the-us-military/242130/

“A couple of nights ago, I was hanging around a major Middle Eastern airport, on a long layover. I had just come from Islamabad (yes, I realize I didn’t share the information that I was in Pakistan with Goldblog readers while I was there — trust me, it was for my own good) and was waiting for a flight to the States, and I began to notice something very troubling (I’m not naming the airport, the airline or the flight number for reasons that will become clear). ”

A couple of good articles on how to BE gray:

http://www.deathvalleymag.com/2010/02/19/civilian-contractors-the-greyman/

http://getoffthex.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/440107932/m/930109346/p/1

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grey Man

  1. aleph says:

    your title says it all – be grey, dont stick out from the crowd

Leave a Reply

