Letters of Marquee and Reprisal

I have a solution for our international woes. Bring the military home and reduce it by 8 Active Duty Brigades. Focus on making our borders impregnable.

All those little brushfires? Al-Queda? Somali Pirates? Simple, issue letters of Marque and Reprisal and turn the private industry free market loose!

The U.S. Constitution provides, Article I, Sec. 8 cl. 11: The Congress shall have Power To…

To define and punish Piracies and Felonies committed on the high Seas, and Offences against the Law of Nations;

To declare War, grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal, and make Rules concerning Captures on Land and Water;

Let the market do what it does best….

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letters of Marquee and Reprisal

  1. Pathfinder says:

    Letters of Marquee and Reprisal – I thought this was going to be about movies!

    Apropos of nothing in your post, my son graduated USMC Boot at MCRD San Diego, 2nd Battalion, Golf Company 2145 Platoon on Friday along with 254 other newly minted Marines. I was lucky enough to be there, and it was awesome!!!! He has leave now, then MCT and then immediately to Monterey for DLI. How much longer will you be there?

  2. cptcaveman says:

    I leave after New Years. Congrats! If your ever in the area, there is plenty of room here, along with a nice bottle of scotch and some Gurkha cigars!

  3. Pathfinder says:

    If it’s OK for a Marine PFC to look for and talk to an Army Major, I will have him look you up!

    Don’t know that I will be out there, but who ever really knows what’s next. I once swore I would never go back to CA, and I was there for 3 days last week. At least I was on the base staying in the Billet. I’ll keep you posted. Can you email me your last name so he has something to go on other than Major Mike??

    Thx.

Leave a Reply

