Alabama Moon


So, I’ve been on a remanissance kick. Last night we watched Alabama Moon. It doesn’t rate well with the critics, but I loved it. The level of detail was absolutely superb. Maybe you have to have grown up in Alabama in the 70’s, but I was absolutely drawn in by the props, the types of chairs, bowls, radios. When they pull out a map of the Bankhead National Forest I recognized it as the same one I have a copy of in my map book.

Then there are the personalities. Only John Goodman couldn’t manage to pull off a passable Alabama accent. The hero of the movie makes friends with the story’s bully and when they visit his house, I felt immediately transported back to summers at my friend Steve’s house, running through the woods, taking his dad’s tractor for a spin. That is where I learned that if you put a tractor in 2nd gear and pop the clutch you can make it do a wheelie. Much more impressive for me, on the forks for the mower, than my buddy in the seat! Drifting in the pond drowning crickets for bream and generally raising hell.

How can you miss a home you don’t have, so much?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1300155/http://www.amazon.com/Alabama-Moon-Watt-Key/dp/0374301840

http://www.amazon.com/Alabama-Moon-Watt-Key/dp/0374301840

 

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

