Random stuff!

So, this is graduation week. I am officially done with French, though I will have to maintain the language and take the DLPT yearly, getting to and maintaining a 2, 2 in reading and listening.

That also means my well oiled schedule is all cornfussed. So, here is a list of random stuff I have found interesting lately!

The Middle-Earth Network is a fascinating endeavor by some very interesting folks. If you are a lover of Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, Highlander or other fantasy type stuff, including the online games, check these folks out. They have a pretty new community forum and a 24/7 streaming radio channel that plays some GREAT music and several radio interview programs. My favorites so far was an interview with C. S. Lewis’ step-son, a co-director on the Narnia movies. A must visit!

Streaming radio: http://radio.mymiddle-earth.net/
Podcasts: http://radio.mymiddle-earth.net/shows/
Forum: http://mymiddle-earth.net/

From this channel I have learned of several new Starving Artists that are putting out some really awesome music and a small, private publishing firm trying to bring back the Highlander series in book form!

Grail Quest Books: http://www.grailquestbooks.com/index/

Marc Gunn, the Celt Father, podcasts and celtic music: http://marcgunn.com/
His newest album, “Don’t Go Drinking With Hobbits” is awesome and he is even a fellow Birminghamian! http://celticmusic.org/2011/hobbit-songs/

In the news:
New Zealand mayor considers hiring private security to oust Occupy protestors…when police refuse…
http://www.3news.co.nz/Police-refuse-to-evict-Octagon-occupiers/tabid/423/articleID/232209/Default.aspx

Lots going on in the coming weeks. The bureaucracy at State managed to screw up 2 of our passports, so the fight to move out from here continues. We continue to look and drool at land, online, in Alabama. Hopefully we will find some to buy this Christmas. In the meantime, Ill be taking the GRE before Christmas and trying to pick up as much Hindi (and retain as much French) as I can. So, see y’all on the trail!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Random stuff!

  1. Marc Gunn says:

    Hey there! Thanks a million for mentioning my album. I’m quite proud of it. It’s awesome hearing people talk about it online. Any favorite songs?

  2. cptcaveman says:

    The title track from the radio interview is the best so far. Ive been swamped, and I see the album isnt up on Itunes yet, which album should I put on my Ipod for our trip to Yosemite this weekend? Nothing like Yosemite in the snow with some great music!

    p.s. your family and child remain on my prayer list. Keep doing what your doing, its great stuff!

    • Marc Gunn says:

      Thank you for the prayers. We all appreciate it. Ooo! I’d love to see hear the soundtrack at Yosemite. That’d be awesome! One day, I’ll make it there.

  3. cptcaveman says:

    I edited while you were typing. Is the newest CD on Itunes yet, I cant find it…

Leave a Reply

