A Wrinkle in Time

I had the chance a couple nights ago to watch the movie version of the most excellent book “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeline L’Engle. The production quality of the movie was OK, but the wonderful message and feel of the book came through very well.

At one point today, something brought to my mind a scene where Mrs. Which is speaking with Meg and Meg makes the comment “Is it over? Did we defeat the darkness?” and Mrs. Which responds “That is a task too big for any of us…”

Too often I feel the need to charge to the sound of the guns, rather than making sure I am following the Great Commander’s battle plan for my life. If I, like Gen. Stuart, charge around on my own attacking where and when I wish I won’t be where He needs me at the right time, rather like Gettysburg.

Where I will be effective, and content, will be in the battle that He has given me. And each of us has a battle, even if it’s only with our own demons. And, in this timeline, the battle will never be over. We may win or lose a battle, but the war is too big for any one of us to win finally. But that in no way lessens the importance of fighting, and if necessary dying, well on our own hills.

Check this video between 4:54 – 5:33

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoEmxCepxwM&feature=related

 

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

