Launching the rest of my life.

I just listened to a podcast that may finally spur me to begin laying the foundation for the rest of my life. Episode 68 of Five Minutes With Jack (http://www.jackspirko.com/episode-68-what-is-money-and-are-you-repelling-it ), especially the last 5 minutes or so, are really, revolutionarily inspiring. I am less than 5 years from being able to retire from the Army. The desires of my heart are really getting close to being able to be a reality, and as I move towards transition I feel it imperative to begin NOW laying concrete plans.

Money, for money’s sake, does not interest me. The freedom to explore, to experiment, to grow and nurture and teach…that interests me a great deal. But, at some point, those grand ideas have to become real endeavors. Planning to sail the world begins with learning to tie basic knots, because that is a skill you will use every day. It also requires, at some point, moving from travel brochures and day-dreaming about all the different places you MIGHT go, to getting out a map and planning your first day’s sail, where you will anchor for the night, what you will take for provisions and monitoring the weather report.

So, for my future, it is time to quit day-dreaming and begin taking those basic steps to move from concept to reality. To that end, I plan to either add a page to this blog, or utilize another medium, to begin formalizing what I want to do. This will include discussion of legal and financial realities to make things work, business model structure, branding and logo, moving from Principals and Ethics to draft agreements. If this interests you, I invite your participation. All things are better collaboratively, and I really need to take these larger ideas I have been refining for so long and expose them to the sunlight, let the crowd-sourcing effect take them beyond my own limitations.

I need your help for the next steps, because whatever this ends up being, it will, at its heart, be about Community.  For a start, check out my new page on the right: A Resilient Life.

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Launching the rest of my life.

  1. Sis says:

    It will surely include Angela and me singing together. Lots of laughter is a given.

  2. cptcaveman says:

    I certainly hope so. My biggest goal for 2012 is to lay out some concrete moves we know we want to take and realistic, step by step almost, moves from the time I get back from A’stan until retirement. Not discounting the leading of the Spirit or disallowing the process to be fluid, but, at some point, you have to stop planning to farm and start breaking ground. We will deal with the obstacles as they come up.

  3. Jack Spirko says:

    Wow beautifully written I wish you the best on your path and glad you enjoyed that episode.

  4. cptcaveman says:

    Thanks Jack, that means a lot.

Leave a Reply

