Story and his friend, Adventure

One of the great loves of my life is Story. I get caught up in it, I see it as a running picture in my mind. I come to love or hate certain charactors with real emotion. It has been this way since I was a kid, but it wasn’t until well into adulthood that I began to understand the significant place that story plays not only in my life and in forming who I am, but in the course of humanity.

As I grew to recognize the importance of Story, I began to see it everywhere. Not just in the books I read, but in music, film, pictures, paintings and sculpture, even in architecture and the lines on other peoples faces. Why Story? What was I catching glimpses of here and there, bit by bit?

The Great Story, of course. It is somewhat amusing, somewhat bemusing to sit back and look at the effect of a bit of wisdom gained on one’s life. All the more startling when they are so few! I can look back and see where my glimpse into the importance of Story has led me to choose less well trod paths and times when I have forgotten that which once was, because I remembered it not.

One of the great things about Story is it speaks to each of us differently, much like Scripture. We can sit in the same theater, share the same experience, and come away with two very different Truths, both valid. Story speaks to us where we are, with what we can handle of Truth, and lets the rest come later.

So it is with one of the major themes of Story, Adventure. I first came to put words to this concept through the writings of John Eldredge. He put into words for me, in a way I could grasp, many concepts I already had but ill-formed.

I had almost forgotten my old friend Adventure. Ive been busy living it, too much so to give it proper perspective. These clips brought it back for me. I hope they speak to you. I hope you find the adventure you are meant to be living!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Spiritual life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

