Start small…but start today!

Jeff Goins has an excellent article up HERE. He makes the very good point that in order to excel at something you have to pay your dues. Any discipline starts with TIME and EFFORT paid out to achieve a minimum level of expertise.

What are you starting to do today…or are you going to coast?

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Spiritual life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Start small…but start today!

  1. Man, what you have said about paying your dues is absolutely true !

    In pursuit of financial liberation, I tried more than a few get-rich-quick ventures. None worked.

    Then one day, I asked God why is it that life for me seemed to be so hard, and His response was this: “By the sweat of your brow you will eat bread and cursed is the ground for your sake.” Well I didn’t actually hear a voice, but these quotes from the Scriptures came back to memory.

    I was shown that even if I lived in a modern city like New York, the principle of having to toil to eat bread, would still stand firm. I was shown that I wanted to reap where I didn’t sow, and that the ONLY way for this to have been possible, was for me to be stealing the fruits of someone else’s labor. So I purposed in my heart to begin laboring long, hard and honestly, no matter what.

    And you know what ? I NEVER enjoy actually toiling, because it’s always so painful. However, the fruits, the rewards, of toiling are ALWAYS so sweet and satisfying, that, although I never enjoy the toil, I always keep going back to toil. The end results are both the motivation and the reward.

    Long, hard and honest labor is a bitter plant that bears a sweet fruit.

Leave a Reply

