Beurocratic Hell

There are many things I love about the Army. The comraderie, the brotherhood of arms, the art and science of leadership, the neat toys, the travel. But, once you get above the small unit level or behind the Battalion lines the Army is just another beurocracy. Ive heard the number that it takes 10 soldiers to keep one meat eater on the line. I believe it.
Kuwait is beurocratic hell. And, I begin to believe, so is A’stan. It is not just myself who has arrived here either thinking they were coming to one job only to find out they are being re-assigned or who arrived with orders just to report to OEF! No, along with me, just in my small group, are a senior Master Sergeant, and LTC surgeon and a Chief Warrant Officer 5! There are more 1 star generals in the Army than CWO5’s!
Hopefully, I will find out tomorrow what my job will be and where and with who. It would be nice to know before I just show up. Im not normally one to complain, but this is getting rediculous and it’s not just me, it is happening to a LOT of people according to the LNO’s from A’stan manning the desk here.
Ah well, at least I am catching up on my sleep!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beurocratic Hell

  1. Robin says:

    I know you want to go forth and conquer but this might just be a pause to keep you out of harms way. Weeks or months from now, you might have a narrow escape and say “Man! I’m glad I wasn’t here 3 days ago!”.
    I love you.
    Sis

  2. Your Angel says:

    I love you honey. Rest, sleep, and trust that your purpose will be revealed to you. I just know God has a place for you to be His humble servant and warrior. Love you more than words.

  3. Dan says:

    Sometimes I wish I were one of those who could just take advantage of the situation and lay low for a couple of weeks…. knowing that the beaurocrats would never know the difference. But, alas, we are not cut of that cloth.

    And to think… we are the greatest military force on the planet.

  4. Hayley says:

    I am quite surprised to hear this.. I figured you would have known this for quite a while.. isn;t the Army’s slogan Hurry up and Wait?? As you wrote, at least you can catch up on sleep.. I notice it didn’t say relaxation… I am sure you will find out soon and you will be a marvelous addition to any unit.. Be safe and don’t be in such a hurry..

Leave a Reply

