My Cousin Bob

 

What a small world.

My shop is made up of both Army and AF officers and DOD and contract civilians. The last one I had not met came in day before yesterday and it turns out he is my cousin!

I think Ive written about my ancestors before. Robert Kay came over from Bury, England around 1680 and had 5 sons. Pretty much anyone with the surname Kay who lives in GA, SC, AL or TX is a descendant of one of those sons and there is a book that documents all of us, from Robert Kay to my kids.

Knowing where you come from, the background to your personal story, is very important. It gives context for much of what I find I go through. But, it is also a double edged sword. We are not bound by who our ancestors were. Each of us, at some point, must become the writer, or co-author at least, of our own story. To cede that responsibility is to cast your life to the whims of fate and chance and to deny the purpose the Creator put in place when He designed you.

What story are you writing?

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in family, Spiritual life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Cousin Bob

  1. Dan says:

    We must share a pint the next time you come to Alabama. God speed.

Leave a Reply

