The Hobbit: Chap 5

Another one I had to dig deep for. It is a great action sequence, giving vivid detail and really putting the reader “there”. I can’t wait to see how Peter Jackson treats this sequence.

One thing that always stood out to me was the idea of the game of riddles being sacred and ancient. I don’t have much in my life that is ancient and sacred, except maybe my favorite pair of boots! What is so hallowed by time/tradition/habit that you hesitate to tread on it? Is it a net good or bad? I am very fond of sacred cow, I like mine rare with a good garlic butter. But we need some things that transcend our own lives. Things we can cherish for their antiquity, their holiness, the fact that they speak deeply to us, just as they spoke deeply to the ancients.

Im a Southerner. I am deeply steeped in history and enough of a historian to know most of it is bunk. But mankind keeps making it and making it holy writ. Why? What drives us to this? What part of the Divine are we really seeking?

There is a pretty riddle….

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Books and media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Hobbit: Chap 5

  1. Joann says:

    I am finding as I try to break out of the tradition that I miss some of it. That is a riddle, it’s what binds us and sometimes stifles us, and yet it’s what we crave.

    • cptcaveman says:

      The tradition isnt all bad. Like knowing your family history, it gives you context but shouldnt be the defining thing about you.

      • Joann says:

        Right and unfortunately I think I was allowing that to happen and so I have been letting go of it, church tradition more than family, it’s all wrapped up together I suppose.

      • cptcaveman says:

        I went through that process, pretty heavily, when I discovered Wild at Heart. Back in ’02 I think. Really got out from under my Southern Baptist hangups. What I discovered, after some time had passed, I really got a lot out of tradition, i needed it whether I thought I did or not, but not in the way I practiced it before. before it was rote behavior, i did it because we all did it. now,i have kept my freedom of relationship in Christ, but begun to add back those things He brngs to me, like the liturgical calender, that I can understand and which bring richness to my life. So, keep following Him and dont be shocked where He might lead!

      • Joann says:

        That is where I am. Letting go of all that Southern Baptist rooted where God should be rooted. It’s not easy, but I am so glad that God is bringing me through this season!

Leave a Reply

