The Hobbit: Chap VII

This is a key chapter for me. The imagery of Beorn has followed me throughout my life and, I believe, is the source of much of my personal inspiration for Permaculture. It and the scenes with Tom Bombadil in The Rings. The idea of a powerful, dark man who is friends with the animals and caretaker of the land who turns into a bear, who rules a beautiful if rustic hall, is a gentle host but wrathful warrior. A man who knows a sense of deep loss, but who has a deep sense of responsibility for those in his care.

Indeed, this is a seminal chapter for me on many levels. My dream home that I build daily in my head looks remarkably like his hall. In fact, before reading this, the plan I really have been working on is a 3 sided open courtyard design! Enjoy this chapter, I plan to reference it again for deeper details.

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Books and media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

