Piety

Merriam-Webster defines Piety as: : the quality or state of being pious: as a : fidelity to natural obligations (as to parents) b : dutifulness in religion

Why is it so hard to maintain? I have noticed a trend over this deployment, a very marked trend. Piety, for me, means reading through the morning prayer on the Northumbria Community website as my first act upon sitting down at my desk in the morning. I have all 3 daily prayers set as reminders in my Outlook. It also means focusing my free-time research on things that further my understanding of things that appear to be key to my future endeavors, things like Permaculture, Intentional Community, Resiliency. Things that build up my mind and spirit and equip me to be a good steward of all I have been given.

It is a simple choice really. Do I do what I know will bring me a much saner day, a day with energy and self-discipline to focus on the PT I need to do and finish the work I must accomplish? Or, will I ignore those simple things, rush to Drudge instead of prayer, focus on politics instead of life-giving things? One brings life, the other disarray.

We have had a spate of work lately. What I call “Ankle-Biters at 25 meters”. Small, unimportant projects that just pop-up with no warning and short suspense’s. I find this to be the most conducive environment for me to make excuses. The world wont end if the project doesn’t get done on time, but I feel an obligation to my fellows to get ‘er done. This lends the project more importance than it is due in my mind and excuses me just plopping down and getting right to it. And I know, the quality of the product and the speed at which I would do it would be increased by taking the 10 minutes to pray first.

Day by day, I just have to slay this monster. I suppose this is what it means to “develop” piety…vs “having” piety…

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Spiritual life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

