My new computer

Well, I bought a new computer. HERE is a description of the problem I had with my MacBook Pro. The computer I bought I got throught the NATO PX here in Kabul. I compared prices here and on the internet and, given the multiple problems with shipping Lithium batteries now through USPS to APOs, the slight markup here was more than balanced by lack of shipping and tax free status.
I bought THIS computer. It works reliably, has good ratings for graphics and video and was immediately available. Fortunately, the MacBook fix seems easy, so that is going home to be the kids home school computer until I come home.
In setting up this new PC I wanted to do it right. Below are some links that I found very helpful as a complete computer idiot. Security is a key for me, especially since I am travelling and regularly accessing networks based all over the world. One excellent resource for anyone with access to AKO (Army Knowledge Online) is the ability to download the latest McAfee or Norton for free. I burned this to disk and immediately uploaded it to the new computer. I also have access to a share drive locally with tons of software, music, movies, etc. This is run as a Morale, Welfare, Recreation (MWR) privilege. My biggest challenge is going to be moving all my files from the Mac to the PC, Ill post the solution I come up with when I figure it out!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in gear review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

