Job update

Had a pretty uneventful tour of 3 tourist spots here in the Stan. Got down to Baghram, Kandahar and Camp Leatherneck, inspecting our training sites. I am changing jobs, moving from Lessons Learned across the aisle to Training.

When a US unit is told it is deploying, it begins training. It starts with individual tasks, like firing your weapon, apply 1st aid, etc. Then, the whole unit attends a Mission Training Exercise where they train on crew and small unit tasks and the staff gets to go through drills to polish their capabilities. Then, when they first arrive in theater, they go through RSOI training. There, we go over theater specific equipment and classes on the most recent enemy Tactics, Techniques and Procedures based on the most recent reports.

I will now be responsible for the facilities and contract instructors at all of our RSOI sites, as well as any modifications that we make to the Program of Instruction. I was amazed how this change has altered my mental state over the last few days. Until it lifted I did not realize what a brown study I had fallen into. Without soldiers to lead or, really, any significant challenge to my abilities at all, I was falling into a great deal of lethargy. Now, I feel responsible for others, for coordinating their activities, insuring they are supported as they need to be and inspecting their training to insure they are on task. This is a significant improvement and has really pointed out to me some interesting things about myself. I need a challenge. I need to be responsible for others, to exercise my abilities as a leader. These were important revelations for me.

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in General, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Job update

  1. Rob says:

    You are the right person in the position, glad that you are in the section. Although I will be leaving RSOI is glad you are on board. Best of Luck

    • cptcaveman says:

      Thanks man, that means a lot coming from you. I wish I could do something about all that, I have a nasty suspicion the law of unintended consequences is going to catch up with us.

Leave a Reply

