A Lap Full of Kittens

I had a great conversation with my Angel this morning. She described her day for me, including her visit to a dear friend who runs a nearby farm. She described how my 4 year old little girl spent several hours being responsible for about 12 baby kittens. If you can imagine a 4 year old little girl with a basket of kittens all to herself for several hours, you get the idea! My boys love to go there to work. My oldest son, even though they were only supposed to be going to lunch, insisted on wearing his work boots and work cloths, “just in case”. They both got put to work with feeding animals, prepping a tractor and other useful work. My oldest daughter has made wonderful friends and they spent the early afternoon around the piano, singing and playing. My wife left them to attend a meeting and when she returned to pick them up, they truly hated to leave.

So, here I sit. Wondering once again why I continue to do a job that takes me away from them for months and years at a time; a job that no longer warms the cockles of my heart. It is important. It is professionally challenging and rewarding. But it no longer captures me.

My place is with them. Watching my oldest daughter’s friendships blossom; teaching my sons the value and reward of doing honest, profitable work. And every man should see his little bit with a lap full of kittens. That warms me down to my toes. That is what I hope this present sacrifice will allow me to bestow upon them, not for an afternoon, but as the pattern of our lives and, if they so choose, the pattern available to them as they start their own families. Only the thought of that reward makes this day bearable. Value what you have today, value what you dream to have tomorrow, but if you aren’t making definite, positive steps toward that…ask yourself why and then DO something!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

