V for Vendetta

V for Vendetta

I finally got around to watching this movie Friday night and I loved it. Not that I agree with everything in it, but I loved it and it made me think.

The negatives…they used the predictable Statist boogymen. This was striking to me, since I felt the overall theme of the movie was strongly anti-Statist. The pedophile priest, the right-wing fascism, the conformity are typical Progressive/Statist villains.

But the overall theme, that we must reclaim our Liberty from the Fascisti by defeating our fear, is the exact message that groups like the Tea Party, Libertarians, Minarchists, Anarcho-capitalists, Galtists, etc. are espousing these days. I actually find myself torn over this idea. I have come to detest many aspects of the State that I grew up with that many of the Progressives also hate. The Oral Roberts version of religion leads to a Theocracy, which I would reject in every way. One, because that isn’t what Christ came to establish and Two, because it is an abrogation of my Natural Rights and Free Will. So, I have sympathy for the movie, even though I believe, very strongly, that the risk of America becoming a Theocracy is far less than the threat posed by the Leftist agenda.

Why are SWAT teams raiding Amish farms? Why are mothers being arrested for giving away lemonade? Why have so many of us come to fear our government? What has led us to the point where we cannot exercise our rights of Life, Liberty and Property without asking “Mother may I” from the State? Because the Statists have used fear to claim more and more of our lives. Look at the rules for selling something as simple as a tomato. If I want to sell a tomato in a public venue, it is not as simple as negotiating with the land owner for space and with the individual who wants to buy my tomato. Business licenses, government paperwork, inspections all encroach on this small trade between individuals. We are told that if this wasn’t so there would be massive outbreaks of disease and we all must be protected by Big Brother to keep this from happening. By what right do they claim this authority? Mostly because we let them. The only way to regain the right to determine for ourselves what we eat, who we buy it from and under what conditions is to simply ignore them.

The State has massive resources. It is fear of those resources which keeps the vast majority of the Sheeple in line. But, in comparison to the vast number of us, their resources are puny. They can project force along a fairly narrow lane, but they cannot project it widely all at one time. And, sufficient rejection of their mandates saps them of the last shreds of credibility. This is absolutely necessary if we are to pass on to our children anything else besides the hollow shell and platitudes of a Free People.

So, I love V. I love it for its rejection of Statist power. I disagree that the greatest threat is the Right, the historical proof is that Statists can come from either end of the spectrum and the greatest threat in our time is from the Left. But, Left or Right, they must be rejected, thrown out, tar and feathered and generally made miserable by the Free People of this nation. If we don’t, we deserve the fleecing we get.

 

“I am free, no matter what rules surround me.
If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them;
if I find them too obnoxious, I break them.
I am free because I know that I alone am
morally responsible for everything I do.”

— Robert A. Heinlein

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Books and media, politics, Spiritual life, Video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

