Fire!

Most mornings and evenings I catch the wife, either chat on Facebook or Skype. This morning (my time) my wonderful wife asked me if I had an ideas on making fire-starters for our little firepit. They had their first snowfall in Kansas and she wanted to be able to light it easily, even with damp wood.
Now, let me pause right now and ask, how cool is my wife? She takes her fire making skills seriously! I recall her going to a woman’s retreat of some sort and telling me that while there the counselors had attempted to light a bonfire. They stacked 3-4 inch thick wood and poured on kerosene! After 2 or 3 failed attempts she rounded them up in disgust, set them to gathering tinder and taught them to lay a proper fire! That is the type of woman I convinced to marry me!
So, I looked through my collection of survival related papers and, while I know of a dozen different types of home-made fire-starters, I didn’t have any of them collected into a single word document, as I normally do. So, below you will find the links I used to collect a word document for my wife to give her ideas. I am only giving the links and brief description so you will visit these deserving spots on the internet.
Large fire-starters are the type I would make a bunch of and store in a gallon ziplock in my camp box or by the firepit at the house. Small are the type I put in my BOB and carry on hikes.
Enjoy!

Large Fire-starters
Muffin Pan Fire-starter: Sawdust and old candles

Newspaper logs
Firebugs
Small Fire-starters
Making Fire-Straws
Wax Disk

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Preparedness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

