Tent Making

I wonder how the Apostle Paul felt about tent-making. Supposedly that was his trade, one which he used throughout his ministry to support himself and those around him. He often chides the early Church for failing to support those they sent out, but it never comes up that he stopped working with his hands.

I think it unlikely he learned the trade early in life. He was a Pharisee among Pharisees, a task begun early in life and requiring extensive education and training. There would have been little time for him to have learned a manual trade. So, how did he come to it? Why that trade? How did he feel about it?

I am likely to not have long left in the Army. It has been a good ride. I have gotten to do a lot of neat stuff, some stuff I am truly honored to have done, and a whole LOT of soul-killing stuff. And, increasingly, that is my fate. I am no longer at the sharp end. My life revolves around FRAGO’s and Powerpoint. I will, most likely, shoot far more of my personal ammo on private ranges this year than Uncle Sam’s ammo on military ranges.

So, I have been reading stories, like the ones linked below, and I wonder. I wonder how Paul felt about being a tent-maker. Did it scratch some itch? Did he find it fulfilling? Did it aid his ministry? How does one go about being called to tent-making?

I need to find something. Something that makes my heart sing, like the stories below made my heart sing when I felt the power of creation for the sake of the act.

Chef

Vintner

Cook

Master of the Hunt

Conservationist

Reel Maker

Turkey Guide

Table maker

Potter

Photographer

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Community, family, Spiritual life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

