Horseing around!

Ok, this farming stuff just got serious! Apparently the good Lord is still in the business of looking after fools and small children…

I went out to the barn yesterday morning to put Sassy out on pasture, slid the barn door open and…the stall was empty! I swear that door wasn’t wide enough for her to get out of either. And, of course, the night before I didn’t close the gate at the end of the driveway. So, I jumped in the truck and headed out. I ran into 2 Co. Sherriff’s at the end of the road, they had had a report of a loose horse near the quarry, which is across the main road from me, but had not seen her. I gave them my info and went looking. After about 20 min I went back to the house, put on pants, grabbed Angela and the saddle and we went back out.

We stopped at the quarry office and no one was there, but we decided I should check the pasture behind the quarry. As soon as I stepped out of the truck with the halter, a utility van pulled up. I asked if he had seen a loose horse and he said yes, it was in his yard!

So, we followed him to his place, about 4 miles from ours. There she was! So, since I have no trailer yet, I saddled up and Angela followed me home. I rode down the mile of gravel road to the main road. She spooked when a Great Dane came charging down a driveway at us and I got a quarter mile gallop before I got her calmed down. I haven’t done that in a LONG time!

Walked her down the main road to our turn off and Angela finished the walk in. I was in such a rush to get out I didn’t put on socks with my Ropers, so I now have blisters on both heels.

Truly, He looked after us yesterday morning!

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Horseing around!

  1. Kay, Larry G. says:

    Glad you found her. Gives a whole new meaning to the old saying: An ounce of prevention ( closing barn and gate) is worth a pound of cure. Farm life will have many challenges but I am sure you can handle whatever comes along. Just remember son, animals and children are not as easy to predict or control as troops. Love you, Dad

Leave a Reply

