Garden Beds

So, we have an awesome garden spot. It is about 40-60′, deeply tilled and heavily mulched with horse stable sweepings. The ground is so soft I can stick my hand in to the wrist with very little effort.

Unfortunatly, when it was tilled up this spring, it was never planted with anything. There are a number of volunteer tomatoes we have been nurturing, but i have just been weed-eating the rest.

So, yesterday I began the first efforts in my plan to transform the garden to a raised bed system. The idea is to cover a 4′ wide strip with cardboard to kill the weeds and then dig a 3′ wide strip next to it and dump the soil from the 3′ strip on top of the cardboard. This will create a 3′ sunken lane for access to the beds on either side and a planting space for fall garden and/or winter cover crop.

I have never used the front end loader on my tractor until today, so the work was a bit uneven and, as I snapped my guide line early on, I began to dig where the 2nd bed should be, rather than in the alley between. Even with the tractor this is gonna be an incramental and tedious labor. But, I think the end result will be worth it and next years spring garden should go bangers!

 

bed 1 bed 2 Bed 3

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

