Geese

So, it seems my pastures need some love. The guy I had come look to see if he wanted to cut them for hay said I had too much fescue among the brome and clover and it was only fit for cows and goats. The Extension would have me disk it, spray herbicide and replant. After much consideration, and the recommendation from a friend to mob graze it, I have come up with a variation. Why not mob graze it with geese? I think it is worth a try, if I can find some geese!

The pic is my design for a geese enclosure that is moveable around the pasture. Not worried about predators with adult geese other than a pack of coyotes, but I think we will be ok. What do yall think?

Goose House

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Geese

  1. Post some pictures of before the geese get there and after, then monitor for any changes in plant population.

  2. Have the Geese started?

    • cptcaveman says:

      Nope. I haven’t been able to make it a priority what with getting the horse shed moved and now, hopefully, dog-proofing the main yard and closing in the hen house. Finding geese is also proving more difficult than I would have thought. I may have to spend the winter building the geese enclosure and getting some goslings in the spring. I promise, Ill keep this more updated!

Leave a Reply

