Gemstones

 

I first heard about the many gemstones of Afghanistan in my Dari class at the Presidio. Our teachers as part of our cultural education told us about all the many assets of Afghanistan, including its abundant mineral wealth.

My first good book on Afghanistan was “The Gem Hunter” by Gary Bowersox. A great book I highly recommend. When I got here I spent several days periodically visiting our local Afghan market. Several of the shops, along with every other market Ive been in since, have cut gems in profusion. Having a lifelong love of rocks I decided before I dropped several hundred dollars on what I hoped would be several thousand dollars worth of rocks I had better educate myself. The one gentleman I bought some Lapis Lazuli from made a gift to me of a small, brass jewelers loupe so I have the first of the three recommended  tools for prospective collectors.

I read a lot of good advice from the sources I will list below. I am going to continue researching this area, not only because an old love has been re-awakened and I need the distraction but in order to take proper advantage of the opportunities presented to me here. Hopefully I can soon report on some most excellent buys! Take some time and look at the links and ask yourself why you are waiting to pursue the things that pull at your heartstrings…

Gems of Afghanistan
Advice from a faceter
Tourmaline
Stunning pictures and current values
Excellent articles and forum

About cptcaveman

An Army Major, my family and I are in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. We enjoy photography, cooking, reading and outdoor sports like hunting, fishing and trapping.
This entry was posted in Books and media, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment